WTO issues call for papers for 2023 Essay Award with regard to Young… – WTO Latest News

Last year’s winner, Mathilde Muñoz, said: “I would encourage all young economists to take part in this competition. It’s incredibly useful to connect one’s research with people responsible for implementing trade policy and to delve into the current problems in world trade and what the negotiations are all about. ”


The annual WTO Article Award provides a prize of CHF 5, 000 to the author(s) of the winning essay. In the particular case associated with a co-authored paper, the prize will be equally divided among the authors. The winning paper will be officially announced at the yearly meeting of the European Trade Study Group (ETSG), the largest conference specializing in international trade. The particular award ceremony will take place on 14-16 September 2023 in the University associated with Surrey in the United Kingdom. The winning author will certainly receive funding to attend the meeting.


An Academic Selection Panel is responsible regarding the selection of the particular winning papers. The panel comprises:  

Professor Ralph Ossa (Director, Economic Research plus Statistics Division, WTO Secretariat) is ex officio member of the panel. Dr Roberta Piermartini (Chief, Trade Cost Analysis Section, WTO) coordinates the work of the particular selection screen.


The paper must address issues related to industry policy and international business cooperation.   The author(s) from the document must possess or become engaged in the completion of a PhD degree and, if over 30 years of age, be no more than two years past the PhD defense. In the case of co-authored papers, this requirement shall apply to all authors. In addition, to be considered for the award, essays cannot exceed 15, 000 words.

More news on the particular WTO Essay Award will be available here .

Past winners

2022 : Mathilde Muñoz (James M. plus Cathleen D. Stone Center on Wealth and Income Inequality, University of California, Berkeley)
2021 : Tomas Dominguez-Iino (New York University) plus Swapnika Rachapalli (University associated with Toronto)
2020 : Xian Ding (Harvard University)
2019 : Jan Bakker (Oxford University) and Federico Huneeus (Princeton University)
2018 : Alonso de Gortari (Harvard University)
2017 : Meredith Startz (Princeton University)
2016 : Matthieu Bellon (Columbia University)
2015 : Christoph Boehm (University of Michigan), Aaron Flaaen (Federal Reserve Board of Governors in Washington D. C. ) plus Nitya Pandalai-Nayar (University associated with Michigan)
2014 : Jonathan Dingel (Columbia University) and Claudia Steinwender (LSE)
2013 : Felix Tintelnot (Princeton University)
2012 : Treb Allen (Yale University)
2011 : Rafael Dix-Carneiro (University of Maryland) and Kyle Handley (Stanford University)
2010 : Dave Donaldson (MIT) and Olena Ivus (Queen’s University)
2009 : Ralph Ossa (University of Chicago). The runner-up was Mostafa Beshkar (University of New Hampshire)


Essays should be submitted by 2 June 2023 . The particular Economic Research and Statistics Division of the WTO Secretariat will shortlist eligible papers by 16 June 2023 and the selection panel will take a final decision by 7 July 2023 . Only the author(s) of short-listed documents will end up being notified.


The winning article may be published in the WTO Working Paper Series. It is the particular responsibility associated with the author(s) to endeavour to secure publication of the contribution in the journal.


All submissions should be sent to [email protected] . Submissions should include as separate attachments in PDF format:

  1. the essay
  2. the particular CV from the author(s), specifying (i) current affiliation(s), (ii) the academic institution awarding the PhD, (iii) the year (or the expected year) of the particular PhD, (iv) the date of birth of the author(s).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *